>Home >City Commission

City Commission



Sean Denison - Current term ends: 2022


Originally from Pennsylvania, I moved to the Midwest in 1995 after graduating from college with a degree in Political Science.  I currently reside in Buchanan with my wife Stacey, who is the Principal at Moccasin Elementary and my daughter Sydney who attends Buchanan Middle School. I am the Director of Regional Services at North American Signs in South Bend, where I am responsible for the daily operations throughout the Michiana area.  In addition, I am the owner of Timberline Rack; a company I founded in 2007 that designs and supplies lumber storage equipment to retail lumberyards.





Cameron Downey - Current term ends: 2022




Patricia Moore - Mayor - Current term ends: 2020




Dale Toerne - Mayor Pro - Tem - Current term ends: 2020 

Retired after 30 years from Peoples Gas in Chicago. Retired to Buchanan in 2003



Mark Weedon - Current term ends: 2022


The City operates under the Commission – Manager form of government as prescribed by Charter. Under this model the City Manager is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the City with the Buchanan City Commission’s main function being legislative and setting important policies that chart the future course of Buchanan. The City Commission is made up of five (5) members who serve four (4) year terms. The Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem are selected at the first meeting in November following the City election.

Commission Meetings are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. unless it is a holiday and then the meeting is the next succeeding business day. Residents are welcomed and encouraged to attend. The Agenda is posted in the cabinet by the entrance to City Hall the Friday before a Monday Meeting. It is also posted on this website under City Commission-Agendas & Minutes.

Commission Priorities